The goal of the Tobacco Online Policy Seminar (TOPS) is to provide a free multidisciplinary, international forum for research using experimental or quasi-experimental variation (i.e., a well-defined counterfactual) to study nicotine-tobacco policies, with a particular interest in emerging tobacco products and modified risk tobacco products. This forum is designed to bring together academics, government scientists, students/trainees, funders, healthcare professionals, and advocates, with the goal of breaking silos in tobacco policy research and providing a platform for high-quality research to be discussed and disseminated. The ultimate goal of the forum is to facilitate the production and sharing of knowledge that can be used to develop an effective tobacco policy framework.

TOPS Video Introduction

Executive Board*

Catherine Maclean, Temple University @JCMecon
Mike Pesko, Georgia State University @mikepesko
Ce Shang, Ohio State University @Ce_Shang_HE
Justin White, University of California-San Francisco @justinswhite

Advisory Board

Warren Bickel, Virginia Tech
Michelle Bloch, National Cancer Institute
Alison Breland, Virginia Commonwealth University
John Cawley, Cornell University @cawley_john
Christopher Carpenter, Vanderbilt University
Frank Chaloupka, University of Illinois-Chicago @FrankChaloupka
Mike Cummings, Medical University of South Carolina
Dhaval Dave, Bentley University
Cris Delnevo, Rutgers University @CrisDelnevo
Jeffrey Drope, University of Illinois at Chicago
Sherry Emery, University of Chicago – NORC @SherryEmery
Michael Eriksen, Georgia State University @MPEriksen
Jean-François Etter, University of Geneva @etterjf
Matthew Farrelly, RTI International
Geoffrey Fong, University of Waterloo @gfong570
Maciej Goniewicz, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
Emmanuel Guindon, McMaster University
Scott Halpern, University of Pennsylvania @ScottHalpernMD
Peter Hajek, Queen Mary University of London
Bob Hornik, University of Pennsylvania
Prabhat Jha, University of Toronto @countthedead
Mary Kautz, National Institute on Drug Abuse
Brian King, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – Office on Smoking and Health
Ryan Kennedy, Johns Hopkins University @ryan_david
Tessa Langley, University of Nottingham
David Levy, Georgetown University
Rafael Meza, University of Michigan
Richard O’Connor, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
Jennifer Pearson, University of Nevada-Reno
Barbara Schillo, Truth Initiative
Jody Sindelar, Yale University
Andrew Strasser, University of Pennsylvania
Jim Thrasher, University of South Carolina
Dana van Bemmel, Food and Drug Administration - Center for Tobacco Products
Ted Wagener, Ohio State University

*: The executive board members report no current or historical funding from or board involvement with tobacco-nicotine industries or foundations they support. Over the past 10 years, executive board members received funding from the following organizations for tobacco research:

The seminar series itself receives no funding.